Join our brand new verified AMN Telegram channel and get important news uncensored!

Jon Gray, Carlton Fisk named Bob Feller Act of Valor Award winners

(Bob Feller Act of Valor Award Foundation/Released)
October 09, 2023

Rangers right-hander Jon Gray and Hall of Famer Carlton Fisk are the 2023 recipients of the Bob Feller Act of Valor Award. Both will receive their awards at the United States Navy Memorial in Washington D.C. on Nov. 15.

Gray and Fisk will be honored alongside award recipients in four other categories, including current active military members in the Navy and Marine Corps. Other honorees include:

  • Chief Personnel Specialist Terrell M. Culler, U.S. Navy Chief Petty Officer Award
  • Gunnery Sergeant Terrance B. Showers, U.S. Marine Corps, Jerry Coleman Award
  • Junior Enlisted Association aboard the USS Tripoli, Peer-to-Peer Mentorship Award
  • Nora Belodeau, Gettysburg College and Marco DelBene, Pace University, Bob Feller Fellowship Award

Gray, 31, went 9-8 this season with a 4.12 ERA, helping the Rangers to the postseason. He started the #MissionGrayWolf22 program to host military groups at Rangers home games, hosted a December toy drive, raised money for an animal rescue and the Adaptive Training Foundation as well as raising funds for The Birthday Party Project for homeless youth.

Fisk, who was elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 2000, served in the United States Army Reserves from 1967 to 1971 as a member of the 393rd Service and Supply Battalion in Chester, Vermont

The awards honor the legacy of Feller, who put his career in Major League Baseball on hold to serve in the U.S. military from 1942-44. Honorees are evaluated on values, integrity, and dedication to serving the country in the selfless tradition of Feller himself. Each year, an active major league player and a hall of famer are selected.

Previous Hall of Fame recipients include: Yogi Berra, Tommy Lasorda, George Brett, Rod Carew, Tom Seaver, Johnny Bench, Randy Johnson, Brooks Robinson, Joe Torre and Trevor Hoffman.

MLB player recipients include: Justin Verlander, Nick Swisher, Jonathan Lucroy, Brad Ziegler, Darren O’Day, Sean Doolittle, Ian Kennedy, Craig Stammen, Griffin Jax, and Byron Buxton.


© 2023 Advance Local Media LLC

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC