Join our brand new verified AMN Telegram channel and get important news uncensored!

UPDATES: McCarthy loses 1st Speaker voting round; 1st time in 100 years

In this photo from June 23, 2021, House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy speaks at a press conference about COVID-19 and China. (Michael Brochstein/Zuma Wire/TNS)
January 03, 2023

California Republican Rep. Kevin McCarthy failed to secure his bid for U.S. House Speaker on Tuesday, becoming the first person in 100 years to lose the vote for speaker during the first round of voting. McCarthy subsequently lost the second and third rounds of voting, as well.

McCarthy needed 218 to secure the House Speaker position, but only earned 203 after the first roll call. Democrat Rep. Hakim Jeffries earned 212 votes and GOP Rep. Andy Biggs earned 10 votes. Nine lawmakers also supported other candidates.

The following Republicans blocked McCarthy’s bid during the first vote:

  • Rep. Andy Biggs (AZ)
  • Rep. Dan Bishop (NC)
  • Lauren Boebert (CO)
  • Josh Brecheen (OK)
  • Mike Cloud (TX)
  • Andrew Clyde (GA)
  • Eli Crane (AZ)
  • Matt Gaetz (FL)
  • Bob Good (VA)
  • Paul Gosar (AZ)
  • Andy Harris (MD)
  • Anna Paulina Luna (FL)
  • Mary Miller (IL)
  • Ralph Norman (SC)
  • Andy Ogles (TN)
  • Scott Perry (PA)
  • Matt Rosendale (MT)
  • Chip Roy (TX)
  • Keith Self (TX)

In November, McCarthy vowed to remove Reps. Eric Swalwell (D-CA) and Adam Schiff (D-CA) from the House Intelligence Committee when Republicans take over control of the House of Representatives in January.

This was a breaking news story. The details were periodically updated as more information became available.