Join our brand new verified AMN Telegram channel and get important news uncensored!

Biden’s FBI, spy chiefs at World Economic Forum with senators and more

Swiss Armed Forces troops guard a post on media visit day during the annual meeting of the World Economic Forum in 2009. (Swiss Armed Forces/Released)
January 20, 2023

The federal government sent the head of the FBI, the director of national intelligence, 11 members of Congress, and several other top officials to the World Economic Forum meeting in Davos, Switzerland this week.

The delegation also includes Labor Secretary Martin Walsh, who is eleventh in the presidential line of succession, as well as Special Presidential Envoy for Climate John Kerry, a former senator and secretary of state, according to a press release.

The U.S. delegation joined more than 2,700 other world leaders in the Swiss Alps for the annual WEF meeting, where some of the world’s most powerful people consider ways to manage the global system. This year’s event involves speeches and panel discussions on issues like recession fears, the Ukraine war and climate change.

President Joe Biden is not attending the meeting, unlike his predecessor, former President Donald Trump.

READ MORE: World Economic Forum: UN chief urges ignoring voters

FBI Director Christopher Wray was one of five speakers in a Thursday panel discussion called “In the Name of National Security,” viewable here

Director of National Intelligence Avril Haines — who manages multiple spy agencies, including the CIA — joined five other speakers for the Wednesday panel “Restoring Security and Peace,” which focused on the “fragile” state of the world order amid the war in Ukraine. That panel is viewable here.

Eleven members of Congress are also among the delegation, including three senators and eight representatives. Nine are Democrats, with the only Republicans being California Rep. Darrell Issa and Florida Rep. Maria Salazar. 

Here’s the complete list of members of Congress in the delegation:

  • Delaware Sen. Chris Coons
  • Washington Sen. Maria Cantwell
  • West Virginia Sen. Joe Manchin
  • Pennsylvania Rep. Brendan Boyle
  • Texas Rep. Joaquin Castro
  • Pennsylvania Rep. Madeleine Dean
  • California Rep. Darrell Issa
  • New York Rep. Gregory Meeks
  • Massachusetts Rep. Seth Moulton
  • Florida Rep. Maria Salazar
  • New Jersey Rep. Mikie Sherrill

Other members of the U.S. delegation include Trade Representative Ambassador Katherine Tai and Agency for International Development Administrator Samantha Power.