Join our brand new verified AMN Telegram channel and get important news uncensored!

Yellowstone’ actor says he won’t attend award show over vaccine mandate

Actor Forrie Smith apologizes to his fans for not attending the SAG awards due to the COVID-19 vaccine mandate.(Screenshot)
February 18, 2022

Yellowstone actor Forrie J. Smith told fans this week he will not attend the Screen Actors Guild Awards due to the event’s COVID-19 vaccine mandate.

“Hey! I want to apologize to y’all for not being at the Screen Actors Guild Awards,” Smith said in an Instagram video that appears to have been taken down. “I mean no offense to anyone. I’m not vaccinated, and it’s a requirement to be vaccinated to be at the Screen Actors Guild Award ceremony. You have to be vaccinated with a booster shot and negative COVID test within 48 hours. You gotta wear a K-95 62 43 whatever kind of mask.”

One Twitter user posted the video of Smith’s apology on his account.

“I’m not vaccinated, I will not get vaccinated. I haven’t been vaccinated since I was a little kid. I don’t vaccinate my dogs, I don’t vaccinate my horses. I’ve never had a flu shot. I never will. I believe they compromise your immunities. Man, I’m sorry. I was sure looking forward to walking down the red carpet in my big black American hat and my Justin boots, representing my culture and heritage, but I’m not going to be able to do that, and I apologize to all ya’ll out there that are part of my culture and heritage,” he continued. “I won’t be representing us at the Screen Actors Guild awards walking down the red carpet. But it’s no offense to anybody or anything. It’s just my beliefs. I just don’t believe in that stuff. Whatever.”

“Thank you, all ya’ll, enjoy watching the show anyway, and maybe next year we’ll get on that red carpet,” he added.

The New York Post reported that Smith, who plays ranch hand Lloyd Pierce in the popular western, was nominated alongside the cast of Yellowstone for outstanding performance by an ensemble in a drama series.

Other members of the cast include Kevin Costner, Kelsey Asbille, Wes Bentley, Ryan Bingham, Gil Birmingham, Ian Bohen, Eden Brolin, Hugh Dillon, Luke Grimes, Hassie Harrison, Cole Hauser, Jennifer Landon, Finn Little, Brecken Merrill, Will Patton, Piper Perabo, Kelly Reilly, Denim Richards, Taylor Sheridan and Jefferson White.

Unlike the SAG awards, the 2022 Academy Awards will not require attendees to provide proof of being vaccinated against COVID-19. According to The Hollywood Reporter, the event will only require a negative PCR test or a negative rapid antigen test.