Join our brand new verified AMN Telegram channel and get important news uncensored!

Here are the 16 Medal of Honor recipients who opened Super Bowl LII

Medal of Honor recipients are saluted at the Super Bowl. (YouTube)
February 05, 2018

On Super Bowl Sunday, 16 Medal of Honor recipients were honored and saluted during the game’s coin toss.

World War II veteran Hershel Woodrow “Woody” Williams, who was awarded the Medal of Honor for his actions during the Battle of Iwo Jima, tossed the coin at Super Bowl LII while the other Medal of Honor Recipients stood beside him.

Williams is the only surviving Marine who has received the Medal of Honor. He is also the only surviving Medal of Honor recipient from World War II’s Pacific theater.

“The NFL is proud to honor our Nation’s heroes at Super Bowl LII,” NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell said in a statement last month. “These courageous individuals deserve to be recognized on America’s biggest stage. We are grateful for their service to our country and we are pleased to continue the NFL’s long-standing tradition of hosting special tributes to service members at the Super Bowl.”

The Medal of Honor recipients who were saluted at the game are:

  • Bennie Adkins: Army, Vietnam (award delayed 9/15/2014)
  • Don Ballard: Navy, Vietnam (awarded 5/14/1970)
  • Sammy Davis: Army, Vietnam (awarded 11/18/1967)
  • Roger Donlon: Army, Vietnam (awarded 12/5/1964)
  • Sal Giunta: Army, Afghanistan (awarded 11/16/2010)
  • Flo Groberg: Army, Afghanistan (awarded 11/12/2015)
  • Tom Kelley: Navy, Vietnam (awarded 5/17/1969)
  • Allan Kellogg: Marines, Vietnam (awarded 10/15/1973)
  • Gary Littrell: Army, Vietnam (awarded 10/15/1973)
  • Walter Marm: Army, Vietnam (awarded 12/19/1966)
  • Robert Patterson: Army, Vietnam (awarded 10/10/1969)
  • Leroy Petry: Army, Afghanistan (awarded 7/12/2011)
  • Clint Romesha: Army, Afghanistan (awarded 2/11/2013)
  • James Taylor: Army, Vietnam (awarded 11/19/1968)