Utah Lowers Minimum Age For Concealed Carry Permits To 18Screen Shot 2017-03-27 at 3.29.40 PM
Utah has lowered the age requirement to be able to get a concealed carry permit down to 18 years of age. House Bill 198 will reflect a whole new age group of individuals that will be legally allowed to have the privilege of gun ownership. The bill was signed into law by Governor Gary Herbert.
The bill did specify that the carrying of firearms onto school property is not allowed but gave the go-ahead for concealed carriers to go onto the campuses of publicly held universities and colleges. Lowering the age restriction will permit freshmen students to defend themselves from violence or sexual assault.
Considered during the decision making process was that 18-year-olds are making the big decisions in their life as they graduate high school. It is a time when they either pursue advanced learning or join the work force, and it can be assumed that if they are capable of making big decisions about their future, they are likely to make informed decisions when it comes to firearms.
Being able to carry a gun for protection on college campuses can offer added security to both the student and the parents. After all, people can join the military as young as age 17 where they are very exposed to firearms and they should be able to do as civilians too.