Join our brand new verified AMN Telegram channel and get important news uncensored!

North Dakota Now Allows Permitless Concealed Carry

March 24, 2017

North Dakota Governor, Doug Burgum (R), is changing the laws about concealed carry in his state.  On Thursday, he signed a bill that would permit North Dakota residents to carry a handgun concealed for self-defense without needing a permit. The House Bill 1169–passed the House on February 21 by a vote of 83-9. It passed the Senate on March 21 by a vote of 34-13.

The new law states that concealed carry is allowed without the need of a permit if the individual is a law-abiding citizen 18 and over. They must also have a valid ID and if they are stopped by police for any reason, they must tell the officer of the weapon. When the Governor signed the bill he said, “North Dakota has a rich heritage of hunting and a culture of deep respect for firearm safety. As a hunter and gun owner myself, I strongly support gun rights for law-abiding citizens. House Bill 1169 allows citizens to exercise their Second Amendment right under the U.S. Constitution.”

The new law made North Dakota the 2nd state to recognize permitless carry in 2017. On February 22 New Hampshire Governor Chris Sununu (R) signed legislation abolishing a concealed carry permit requirement in his state. There are currently 14 U.S. states that allow concealed carry without a permit. Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Vermont, Wyoming, and West Virginia have previously adopted this law.