Join our brand new verified AMN Telegram channel and get important news uncensored!

ALERT: TSA May Stop Accepting 6 States’ Drivers Licenses Beginning Jan. 10

December 30, 2015

Residents from 6 states may soon need to bring an additional form of identification to the airport beginning on January 10th.


This all stems from a 2005 law called the Real ID Act which required ID improvements that ensure legal residency in the state. The changes were those recommended by the 9/11 commission.

The problem however is that there was little enforcement to make sure these changes were indeed made. Now the states that have not made any changes, or not enough changes, may have just severely messed up how their citizens travel.

While California is under review for an extension, these states are listed as noncompliant:

  • Illinois
  • Missouri
  • New Mexico
  • Washington
  • Minnesota


From Popular Mechanics:

The federal government may soon stop accepting state-issued IDs from six different states as a way to gain access to federal facilities or board commercial airliners. So if you live in Illinois, Missouri, New Mexico, Washington, Minnesota, or California, you might need to bring another form of ID to the airport in 2016.

The regulations come from a law passed in 2005 called the Real ID Act, which requires states to meet a specific list of requirements to ensure the legal residency of applicants before they issue identification cards. The law was passed in response to recommendations from the 9/11 Commission, as 19 of the hijackers in those attacks used state-issued IDs to board planes. The regulations have gone unenforced until now.

Read more at Popular Mechanics

Are you a resident of one of these states? Share your thoughts in the comments below!